

Lester B Pearson School Board Parents' Committee

LBPSB Parents' Committee November 5, 2020 Online Zoom Meeting

# **MEETING SUMMARY REPORT**

**ATTENDEES:** Representatives from 40 of 48 member schools and SNAC were in attendance. Thomas Rhymes, LBPSB Assistant Director General, and Joanne Malowany, Coordinator of Community Services, representing the LBPSB Administration, and the newly elected Commissioner Representing the Parents of Special Needs, Susana Lazaro, were also in attendance.

### **Communications**:

- Open houses to be done virtually see board and school websites for details
- Communications Subcommittee meeting scheduled for November 23

### **General Updates:**

- Encouraged support and turnout for upcoming Regional Standing Subcommittee meeting scheduled to take place on November 19
- Meeting will be combined with board-wide Governing Board training and open to all GB Meeting
- School elections have been postponed
- Next Bill 40 movement and update expected around April
- **Resolution passed** as a response to Consultation on Centre Deeds of Establishment stating that the Parent Committee recommends that the next school and/or centre to be established, be named after a Montrealer from a minority and disenfranchised community.

## Breakout Discussions - Covid-19

- Two main points discussed:
  - 1. What is going well at your school?
  - 2. What are our continued challenges?
- Overall feedback indicated consensus that while challenged with resourcing issues, most schools are doing well primarily positive feedback
- Major and ongoing challenges across the board was the lack of consistency in protocols as well as inconsistent management of communication from schools.

#### Varia:

- SNAC
  - Presentation on Sexuality Education & Teens with ASD set for November 25th; Presentation to be done by Isabelle Henault (open to all).



# Lester B Pearson School Board Parents' Committee

Attendance Report		
Member School	Parent Rep Present	Alternate Rep Present
Allion	Annette Banton	
Beacon Hill	Jeremy Asch	
Beaconsfield	Ovidiu Burlec	
Beechwood	Orley Pinchuck	Diandra Yoselevitz
Beurling Academy	Jay Taube	Charline Downer
Birchwood	Derek Kenny	
Children's World	Susan Mintzberg	Mark Calla
*Christmas Park	Lisa Mancini	
Clearpoint		
Dorset		
Dorval	Patricia Ottoni	
Edgewater	Sherry-Lee Dawson	Melissa Nolet
*Evergreen	Melinda Paradis	
Forest Hill Jr		
Forest Hill Sr	Tanja Minisini	Richard Thorpe
John Rennie	Namta Gupta	Shane Ross
Kingsdale	Greg Piggins	Adam Feldstain
Lakeside Academy		Helene Charbonneau
Lasalle Community Comprehensive	Sonya Fiocco	
Lasalle Jr	Soliya Flocco	
LasalleSr	France Henry	
Lindsay Place	Eric Schultz	
MacDonald	Kristoffer de Forest	
		Caugh Fourtin
Maple Grove	Ashley McLellan	Sarah Fortin
Margaret Manson	Anthony Morello	Mark Michel
*Mount Pleasant		
Pierre Elliott Trudeau	Wendy Eeet	Con - Dianin -
Pierrefonds Comprehensive	Marcus Hamaker	Greg Piggins
Riverview	Linda Dalterio	
Sherbrooke Academy Jr.	David Anthony Barbiero	Deniese Peirera
Sherbrooke Academy Sr.	Miki Zarwanitze	
*Soulange		
Springdale		Steven Brodeur
St. Anthony	Shane Ross	
St. Charles		Steven Orenbach
St. Edmund		
St. John Fisher Jr	Christina Corey	Nadia Lawland
St. John Fisher Sr	Sarah Campeau	Christina Forest
St. Patrick	Doug Bently	Michael Barron
St. Thomas	Sharad Bhargava	Adam Davies
Sunshine Academy	Leah Lobaton	
Terry Fox	Lillian Jasinski	Brenda Tremellen
Verdun	Alicia Mancini	Mike Pomerleau
Westpark	Alaina Gross	
Westwood Jr	Tanja Minisini	
*Westwood Sr	Tanja Minisini	
Wilder Penfield	Onnig Kouyoumdjian	
SNAC	Lisa Mancini	
CRPC Designated by SNAC	Suzanna Lazaro	N/A

**Other distinguished attendees:** Barbara Schnider (Minute R)

Thomas Rhymes (Administration)

Chris Eustace (public) Joanne Malowany (Administration) 40/48 Member Schools + SNAC Represented